Jega Wins International Democracy Award


The International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES)
will honour former Chairman Attahiru Jega of Nigeria’s
Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), House
Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and
Congressman Ed Royce (R-Calif.) with its 2015 Charles T.
Manatt Democracy Award. They will receive the award at
a special ceremony co-chaired by IFES Board Director and

Baker & Hostetler LLP Partner Ambassador Tom
McDonald and Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP Partner June
L. DeHart on September 29, in Washington D.C.
“Chairman Jega’s leadership was instrumental to
Nigeria’s successful general elections in 2015,” said IFES

President and CEO Bill Sweeney. “He deserves full credit
for his efforts to increase the credibility and transparency
of the electoral process under extreme logistical
challenges, such as terrorist threats from Boko Haram,
where failure could prove the catalyst for predicted
election violence,” added Sweeney.

Jega’s expert management of the 2015 general elections
positioned him as a credible election administrator. The
complex Nigerian electoral environment consisted of 69
million eligible voters, 155,000 polling booths and 700,000
temporary staff deployed across the country. These
recent elections resulted in the country’s first democratic
transfer of power.

Related Article

Posted By Bobricky On 12:41 Sun, 19 Jul 2015

Comments:0 || Views:



Please LOGIN or REGISTER To Gain Full Access To This Article

Wapbaze is an Entertainment website that deals in uploding of music tracks of any kind and letting her users download them in Mp3 formats of high quality. is the main website, is the folder for latest songs, is for mp4 movies updates so as is for 3gp music videos updates and is for latest gist, news, health and tech updates.